ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 schedule announced

The International Cricket Council  announced the full schedule of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be hosted by England and Wales from May 30 to July 14. England the hosts will take on South Africa on May 30 at The Oval in London in the tournament opener. Australia will launch their title defense on June 1 against Afghanistan in a day/night match in Bristol. Two times champion (1983 and 2011) India will begin their campaign on June 5 against South Africa at the Oval, London. India’s other group stage matches are on June 9 against Australia, June 13 against New Zealand, On June 16 against their arch-rivals Pakistan, June 22 against Afghanistan, June 27 against the West Indies, June 30 against England, July 2 against Bangladesh and July 6 against Sri Lanka.

The 2019 Cricket World Cup’s format is Round-robin and knockout which is different from the formats of previous two world cups. In this tournament, there will be a single group of ten teams, with each team playing the other nine teams, and the top four teams progressing to a knockout stage of semi-finals and a final. There was a similar format used in 1992 world cup where all the teams competed with each other before the knockout stages.


truenews.in worldcup
India and Pakistan will face off on 16 June at Old Trafford in ICC World Cup 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule (by venue)

Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
1 June – New Zealand v Sri Lanka (d)
4 June – Afghanistan v Sri Lanka (d)
8 June – England v Bangladesh (d)
15 June – South Africa v Afghanistan (d/n)

County Ground Bristol, Bristol
1 June – Afghanistan v Australia (d/n)
7 June – Pakistan v Sri Lanka (d)
11 June – Bangladesh v Sri Lanka (d)

County Ground Taunton, Taunton
8 June – Afghanistan v New Zealand (d/n)
12 June – Australia v Pakistan (d)
17 June – Windies v Bangladesh (d)

Edgbaston, Birmingham
19 June – New Zealand v South Africa (d)
26 June – New Zealand v Pakistan (d)
30 June – England v India (d)
2 July – Bangladesh v India (d)
11 July – Second semi-final (2 v 3) (d)
12 July – Reserve day

Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
5 June – South Africa v India (d)
10 June – South Africa v Windies (d)
14 June – England v Windies (d)
22 June – India v Afghanistan (d)
24 June – Bangladesh v Afghanistan (d)

Headingley, Leeds
21 June – England v Sri Lanka (d)
29 June – Pakistan v Afghanistan (d)
4 July – Afghanistan v Windies (d)
6 July – Sri Lanka v India (d)

Lord’s, London
23 June – Pakistan v South Africa (d)
25 June – England v Australia (d)
29 June – New Zealand v Australia (d/n)
5 July – Pakistan v Bangladesh (d/n)
14 July – Final (d)
15 July – Reserve day

Old Trafford, Manchester
16 June – India v Pakistan (d)
18 June – England v Afghanistan (d)
22 June – Windies v New Zealand (d/n)
27 June – Windies v India (d)
6 July – Australia v South Africa (d/n)
9 July – First semifinal (1 v 4) (d)
10 July – Reserve day

The Oval, London
30 May – England v South Africa (d)
2 June –South Africa v Bangladesh (d)
5 June – Bangladesh v New Zealand (d/n)
9 June – India v Australia (d)
15 June – Sri Lanka v Australia (d)

The Riverside, Chester-le-Street
28 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa (d)
1 July – Sri Lanka v Windies (d)
3 July – England v New Zealand (d)

Trent Bridge, Nottingham
31 May – Windies v Pakistan (d)
3 June – England v Pakistan (d)
6 June – Australia v Windies (d)
13 June – India v New Zealand (d)
20 June – Australia v Bangladesh (d)






4 thoughts on “ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 schedule announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *